View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 6:41 pm

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Tips for Searching for a Track Bike 
Squid

What I ride: Honda CB300F
Post Tips for Searching for a Track Bike
Hello. I am still pretty new to the track, but I am searching for a bike that I can dedicate to the track only. My question is, for a noobie, what are the most important technical features I should be looking for? I found a few promising candidates on craigslist, but I come across two issues.

1. Many of them are missing the titles and I am not sure how concerned I really need to be about that.
2. Many will list their upgrades etc, and I am not sure what priorities to give to those upgrades.

Any first time buyer advice you guys can bestow upon me? I am ready and willing to make fun of 61Cubes in some manner in order to obtain this advice.

War

Tue Jul 12, 2016 11:06 am
Assholio Supremo

What I ride: Look over there ---------->
Post Re: Tips for Searching for a Track Bike
War of 1812 wrote:
I am ready and willing to make fun of 61Cubes in some manner in order to obtain this advice.

Oh, you're gonna fit in just fine around here!!

First, I wouldn't look on Craigslist. I'd hit up enthusiast forums first:
http://forums.13x.com/index.php
http://www.ccsforum.com/index.php
http://forum.n2td.org/index.php

If you have a certain make/model in mind, then also hit up the big forum for that, like the R6-forum for R6's, kawiforum for a ZX, or the manlove forum for a CBR. :gay:

No titles do scare away some buyers, and thusly, lowers the price. It could be no title for numerous reasons.. Some legit, some shady, and some downright bad. I'd certainly run the VIN through this: https://www.nicb.org/theft_and_fraud_awareness/vincheck and if the seller won't give it to you via e-mail, walk. My race bike has no title, FWIW.

Mods: (In saying this, I assume you're looking at something Japanese, and nothing pseudo-exotic)